PDA

View Full Version : Striper/salmon rod recomendation?

stingray4540
06-14-2013, 06:53 AM
Well I'm new to striper fishing, but my dad has a friend who likes to go to the Delta a lot, so I picked up an ugly stick striper in med/light.

I would like to try for salmon/steelhead in the delta at some point as well.

I have a Penn 9 and a 209 with 15lb and 17lb respectively.

My question is: Is there a rod that would do well for both stripers and salmon/steelhead on the cheap? I know it won't be ideal for either, but I would like to minimize having exclusive gear for fishing I'll only do a couple times a year.

Also what reel would you put on what rod?

Thanks!

P.S. I didn't know if I should double post this in the striper and salmon/steely forum, or here in general, so hopefully the people will see this here.

FolsomFishing
06-14-2013, 07:13 AM
I have an 8'6 Clarius MH fast action with an Abu Garcia 6500c3. I love it and if you break it, you can do an over the counter exchange for $15 and get another

namjagerungbengi
06-14-2013, 09:57 AM
I just ordered this Lamiglas X-11 Salmon & Steelhead Spinning Rods - FishUSA.com - Fishing Tackle at America's Tackle Shop (http://www.fishusa.com/Product/Lamiglas-X11-Salmon--Steelhead-Spinning-Rods) as it was the most affordable quality product. It's pretty new and has good reviews. I ordered a 8'6" MH for surf fishing, but I want to try it for salmon/steelhead as well. I ordered the Okuma Trio 40 see here:Okuma Trio Spinning Reel Review | Fish with JD (http://www.fishwithjd.com/2011/02/22/okuma-trio-spinning-reel-review/) which should be just fine for Salmon/Steelhead (the review uses a size 30 and was fine). Just a suggestion if you're on a budget but want decent quality.

WhopperStopper
06-14-2013, 11:06 AM
Clarus is a great option. Ugly stik makes a 8'6" inshore model that would handle both salmon and stripers well. I think u can pick one up for about $60.

WhopperStopper
06-14-2013, 11:56 AM