PDA

View Full Version : Tips for a rookie

*Deltadog*
05-04-2006, 10:54 AM
Hey, I'm a delta veteran, but am wishing to expand my horizons a bit. Can anyone give me some tips on where to go surf fishing for perch, striper, etc. Also, how to rig up and jigs, bait, etc. I am a complete rookie, but that surf perch fishing looks like fun. With some nice scenery to boot.
Dog

CenCoast_Angler
05-05-2006, 09:25 AM
Surf perch fishing can be good at a number of beaches...from Monterey all the way up the coast(OK...its good down the coast too). The best way to get started is to rig up a sliding sinker setup. Use about 1-2oz of weight (depending on swell conditions) and a 18-24 inch leader with a curly tail grub. The grub s/b 1.5-3 inches long. The most popular color seems to be Motor Oil with Red Flake. I think the best ones are made by Kalins and Berkley. Use a moderate sized hook, maybe size 4...?

Look for ususual breaks in the swell, like trophs or rips. That is where their food is concentrated, usually sandcrabs. Sometimes you won't see any weird wave action. You'll just have to walk the shore casting every 10-15 feet. You don't really need to cast out very far...sometimes they are in 1-2 feet of water. Waders help a lot, unless you're in So Cal and its warm. Lucky SOBs!

If you want to kick back and lounge on the beach you can throw bait out on a hi-lo rig and stick your rod in a sand spike. The best bait seems to be live sandcrabs, bloodworms, pileworms, or shrimp. This can be a very relaxing way to spend the day at the beach...but not usually as productive as tossing grubs.

I'd reccomend a 7-9 foot medium light action rod with a spinning reel and 10-14 lb test line. They are great fun on light tackle!

Good luck, and BTW, where are you planning to fish?

PK

*Deltadog*
05-05-2006, 09:32 AM
Don't know yet for sure. Can you recommend any places between Stinson Beach and Bodega Bay?
Dog

*Deltadog*
05-05-2006, 09:33 AM