PDA

View Full Version : Tuna Tackle Question

SteelHunter
04-07-2006, 12:21 PM
Hello Sniffers,

I'm wanting to get into saltwater fishing and a friend suggested trying tuna fishing with some of the charter boats out of the SF Bay. But I am a total rookie and don't know where to start.

So I was hoping that some of you could help me with suggestions regarding a good tuna set-up (rod, reel, and line). I would mostly use it here but was also thinking I could fish the tuna set-up in the So. Cal waters too for tuna, etc. I hear there is some good fishing out of San Diego.

Thanks in advance.

Jan_from_Humboldt
04-07-2006, 02:56 PM
How much do you want to spend?

When you say "Tuna" I'll assume you mean Albacore, my favorite bait rig for Albacore is a Newell 229 (Spooled with quality 25# and a Calstar 270H deckhand style rod (Corktape handle). This rig will set you back around $300.00+-

For trolling a Penn 4/0 with 50# and a Sabre 870H works for me. (Around $250.00)

It sort of depends on how you are going to fish for them as in live bait fishing or trolling.

phisherman
04-07-2006, 03:06 PM
Hey SteelHunter

Man, there are about a million different set ups for Tuna! If you are talking SF tuna you are talking albacore (20-40 pounds), San Diego Tuna is albacore, big eye, yellowfin, and bluefin (20-300+ pounds). My suggestion is buy some quality gear now that will last you many years (if not a lifetime). The tackle I suggest is personal preference and on the pricier end of the spectrum.

For rods I like Calstar at *http://www.calstarrods.com/ *Look at the Grafighter series. For SF tuna I recommend the GFGR-700L with a Torium 16 for larger tuna the GFGR-700M and GFGR-700XH. Match this with a Shimano Torium 20 or 30 2speed ($$) or a Trinidad ($$$$) 20, or 30.

Check out the sites for SD long range boats as well http://www.fishermanslanding.com/ *and *http://www.pointlomasportfishing.com/ most of them have suggested tackle listed.