PDA

View Full Version : Dungie Shore Fishermen!! Get ready!

simplycook
10-10-2013, 03:14 PM
Unlike the boat guys, we shore fishermen have to work much harder to get them Dungies. I saw a few Dungies on the shores around HMB, Pacifica, and Ocean Beach while surf fishing last week. Even hooked one on accident with a plastic grub.

Anyone else on here build their own snares? I've been building my own snares for the past two years with great results. Last year being the best because I found a design that worked the best for casting aerodynamics, snare material, and easy bait loading. My best haul was 4 legal dungies on one snare (probably pure luck!).

Just curious if there any other shore crabbers out there looking forward to the season. Can't wait to be eating Dungeness every week again.

BIG_ONE
10-10-2013, 03:33 PM
Only if I live closer to the bay...hopefully I can find an open schedule to make a trip out to Pacifica and away from the weekend warriors. Surf rod + braid + heavy leader + aerodynamic snare attached to a 4 oz sinker. Bait of choice: Rotten fish(shad, salmon head, catfish, carp, etc).

FishGuyService
10-10-2013, 03:45 PM
I will definitely be taking my three-year-old crabbing this year is all about crabs!!!

Tyler

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

Odasan
10-10-2013, 08:01 PM
I will defiantly be snaring crab this season. I have been making my own snares for a couple of years now. They cast pretty. I can't imagine cranking in four crabs at one time.

simplycook
10-16-2013, 09:38 PM
Only if I live closer to the bay...hopefully I can find an open schedule to make a trip out to Pacifica and away from the weekend warriors. Surf rod + braid + heavy leader + aerodynamic snare attached to a 4 oz sinker. Bait of choice: Rotten fish(shad, salmon head, catfish, carp, etc).