PDA

View Full Version : Santa Cruz for rockfish & halibut, any help?

FishnRN
09-27-2005, 11:23 PM
Gonna head out Saturday morning and hopefully be on the water by 0600. I'm fairly new to fishing saltwater on my own, not too familiar with the electronics, no radio, etc. I've heard you can go out not too far and be on some rocks, and that the sandy flats are all around.
Heres my question, are there any landmarks that anybody could point me to that might help me be in the right spots a little better. Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
-Ben, FishnRN

ken_fishnfool
09-28-2005, 08:58 AM
Run out past the kelp off the point on the right of the wharf as you are going out. There is lots of structure (rocks) that hold fish from the kelp out the first half mile or so, and on up further norh, for a mile past the point. Anchovy pieces or squid strips will get you plenty of little ones with a chance of some decent rockcod and a ling or two. ;D

FishnRN
09-28-2005, 06:21 PM
Hey Ken, thanks for the info. *I was just reading on "baysidemarinesc.com" that they caught some halibut at the "mile bouy". *If visibility is good on Saturday, isn't that bouy just straight out of the harbor? *I should be able to find my way there and back, I think? *Thanks again, I'll try there and post when I get back.
-Ben, (FishnRN)

GCinGV
09-29-2005, 06:01 AM
I think there are two Mile buoys, one off the Santa Cruz pier and one off Capitola.
If itís a bit too sloppy in the light house area you can fish the Capitola area east of the harbor. Itís a lot more protected and thereís some good Halibut fishing on the flat between the Capitola pier and the old cement ship thatís on the beach to the east. You can also fish the kelp beds for Rockies. It can be a bit tricky though if it gets really windy because youíll be going against the wind back to the harbor from Capitola.
Good luck GC

ken_fishnfool
09-29-2005, 07:56 AM