PDA

View Full Version : Stanislaus and higher

Dangatang
11-23-2013, 05:52 AM
Hi all,

Nice to meet you. I am new to CA (recently moved from East Coast) and an avid fisherman - with a particular passion for ice-fishing (especially remote locations). I'm going to start my CA fishing life by exploring the Stanislaus next weekend, and moving to higher elevations as it gets colder.

Any information/tips for ice-fishing in the Sierras? Not looking for honey holes, more of areas that can be accessed, and what I can expect in terms of hiking distance, terrain, etc.

Thanks and tight lines!
Dang

Jetspray
11-23-2013, 06:03 AM
Welcome to the boards, nice looking fish you have there. We fish mostly the 88 corridor, some of those lakes are great to ice fish on, but I don't do that myself. NorCal is a great place to start:thumbup:.......Jetspray

Dangatang
11-23-2013, 06:20 AM
Thanks! I've scoured the maps of 88 and I bet Caples / Red are good starts for ice fishing during the cold months. :thumbup: No doubt I'll drill a few holes there as I explore this amazing area. :D

Dang

BigUnInDaBoat
11-23-2013, 08:16 AM
Do you mean the Stanislaus National Forest and not the River? River/stream fishing east of the highway 49 divide closed about two weeks ago. Do our lakes freeze hard enough in cali to safely ice fish from?

tomaniacal
11-23-2013, 08:58 AM
Oh yeah, our lakes here in Cali freeze pretty hard during the winter at the higher elevations. You can still fish the Stan but it is barbless hooks catch and release only right now.

Dangatang
11-23-2013, 09:06 AM
Hi hooks - no snowmobile, just hoofing it with snowshoes. Willing to walk a long way for fish though.

BigUnInDaBoat: The forest. Got a place in mind - which I confirmed is open. I think tomincal is correct; higher elevation lakes/ponds will definitely freeze - some probably frozen already! Nothing better than getting out on the ice and looking through to the bottom when you're a 1/4 mile from shore. :)