PDA

View Full Version : Basic surf fishing info

Bern
08-05-2005, 07:53 AM
I am heading to New Brunswick camping, and plan to try my hand at surf fishing.

Have the rod, and the reel...that is about all I know. Looking for info. on line weight, and how to rig the line.Weight...hook...bait...etc, and in what order?

I am not an experienced fisherman, so easy to understand terms would work best.

We will be fishing near Kouchibouguac national park...any idea on possible catch?

Thanks Gents

MB_Kevin
08-05-2005, 11:03 PM
for stipers you can use 15 pound test tied to a swivel, then run about 2' of 25-40# shock leader to a snap. then tie on a hair raiser or popper.

or for perch go lighter and use a little plastic worm on the hook.
check the boards its all in here Im not the best one to tell you.

Bern
08-06-2005, 06:58 AM
Shock leader...guess i will see that in a store, packaged?

Lol...and what is a hair raiser or popper?

Bait?

Sorry, I am new to this....just thought the kids would enjoy it.

Thanks

wading2fish
08-06-2005, 01:17 PM
If you want a basic setup for kids, go to a tackle store. There you will find packaged surf leaders, they're cheap, you can buy a couple of packs. Buy some weights, 2-4 oz, some hooks in size 1-4. Put that all together and tie it on to your main line and you have your basic surf leader set up. I would recommend pile worms and/or grass shrimp, they're great. You'll catch surf perch, and who knows maybe even a striper, they also love pile worms. I wouldn't put kids with little or no fishing experience on poppers and hairraisers, they're a little more complicated to fish.