PDA

View Full Version : Preferred rod for ocean salmon trolling

Gypsie
03-06-2014, 12:35 PM
I'm pretty new to trolling for salmon in the ocean, but now have a boat and downriggers that will allow me to do just that. I've got plenty of river gear and basic rockfish gear, but was wondering if the "seasoned salts" amongst you would be willing to offer some thoughts on your preferred rod for ocean trolling would be to team up with an Avet MXL reel. Cheers, and thanks for your insights!

JB14
03-06-2014, 05:44 PM
For downriggers I use a shimano Clarus with ambassedeur 6500 C3 reels.

For dragging lead I run avet MX reels with okuma Cedros rods.

Gypsie
03-06-2014, 07:10 PM
JB, thanks for the reply! Care to elaborate on your rod choices?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JB14
03-06-2014, 08:08 PM
Honestly I don't know the specs on the rods. I'd have to get them out and look but they're on the boat which is on the water. Let me see if I can find something.

BDR
03-06-2014, 10:50 PM
I use a couple of g loomis rods, Vance's rods, shimano talora, and a lamiglas xcc 934 gh. By far my favorite rod for saltwater salmon is the lamiglas rod.

Gypsie
03-07-2014, 07:11 AM
JB - much appreciated!

BDR - I have a 7' one piece Inshore Classic Lami that I love for rock fishing and casting. Great fast action rod, but I was thinking of something along an 8' rod with moderate action might be a little more suited to trolling. With that said however, the Lami will definitely see some action on one of the downriggers. I just want to complete a second rig (which will become my primary one for trolling).

BDR
03-07-2014, 05:52 PM
Gypsie - the lami I referred to is over 9 ft and specifically designed for trolling herring on the Columbia or on the downrigger. I suggest you google the model number I listed above and read the comments you find. The rod is completely different than the 7 ft lami you have. I love the rod as do my buddies that fish with me.

Gypsie
03-10-2014, 07:02 AM