PDA

View Full Version : Is shore salmon fishing a thing?

Fishing Fanatic
04-01-2014, 05:17 PM
I've never fished in the ocean, I'm new to any type of salmon fishing but I'm going to the ocean this weekend and I'm having a fishing urge

JB14
04-01-2014, 05:40 PM
Never heard of it. Early season were 10-20 miles off the coast searching for them.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

salmonid
04-01-2014, 06:07 PM
In some areas and times of the season you can catch them very near shore.

There's a beach in Marin Co. where you can drag and launch car topper boats and do OK during the summer (forgot the name), also up at Shelter cove I think. Both of these are pretty much boating though.

They do acclimate salmon smolts in a couple of places and the fish return to them. One such place is Santa Cruz harbor, but I think that the salmon return later in the season.

Take care,

Lyla&Jace
04-01-2014, 06:29 PM
Benicia State Park and 1st Street there are salmon that are caught off the bank/pier late in the season around August/September. From what I've been told and the couple times i've tried boaters dont do well but for whatever reason when the salmon are running through that area the people on the bank/pier have the most luck

yonnr2000
04-03-2014, 07:12 PM
I have heard of people catching salmon from Pacifica Pier as well as Dungeness Crab.

F33rNoFish
04-09-2014, 07:09 PM
I've seen schools of large salmon (heard they were steelhead) skimming the top of the water while pier fishing Santa Cruz wharf. Don't recall the season but it was warm!

salmonid
04-09-2014, 08:04 PM
There is a net pen program down there where Feather river fall run salmon smolts are acclimated in pens in the SC harbor. They return there when mature.

So, salmon do come back there I think in the fall.

Best,

I've seen schools of large salmon (heard they were steelhead) skimming the top of the water while pier fishing Santa Cruz wharf. Don't recall the season but it was warm!

ghostfish_slayer