PDA

View Full Version : AquaCulture and it's Benefits???

ThatOneGuy?
04-30-2014, 08:25 PM
Okay... I know this topic is kinda weird and maybe I'm just weird BUT I just want some insight from fellow fishermens around me.

Okay first off, I'm a finance admin kind of guy and for me to be interested in Aqua Culture is completely the polar opposite of math which is black and white but lately a good college friend of mine really wants to push for an aquaculture business in raising Tilapia, Catfish, and Trout. :old:

Second off, I know my U.S. laws and customs pretty well and I KNOW for a fact that the US puts huge environmental sanctions on aquaculture in the US and my buddy's dream may be more of a fantasy than a reality but somehow I got a stupid gut feeling that in the next 30 years, wild stocks of fish will eventually disappear from the kitchen table in replace for farm raised fish. (Evidence shows all the HUGE numbers of stock trout growing in every 48 states...)
:fish_jumps:
Third of all, how many people buy "processed" fish at the Grocery Store? I know that whenever I go shopping, the seafood isles got a whole lot of "farm" raised fish than wild fish... The "wild" sections are normally frozen and whenever I notice consumers shop, I see them pick the "unfrozen" farm fish from the seafood isles a majority of the time.

Now say if in the next 30 or so years "wild" stocks like Tuna, salmon, halibut, and big Apex fishes that we all love as steaks or sashimi plummets to a point of no return...(Like the Atlantic Tuna...) would aquaculture revolutionize the seafood industry and save wild stocks?