PDA

View Full Version : Looking for effective trout Powerbait

LoganKuzyk
08-11-2014, 03:33 PM
Hi,

I am an amateur trout fisherman with bad luck.

I use an "off-the-bottom" rig with 10lbs line and a 6lbs leader (leader is 6lbs so the trout don't see the line, I didn't feel like unraveling my whole reel). The only luck I have had was with a buddy's Gulp salmon roe, so I bought some, but with no success.

Is there really that much difference between the Powerbait dough and eggs?

Jetspray
08-11-2014, 03:41 PM
Hi,

I use an "off-the-bottom" rig with 10lbs line and a 6lbs leeder (leeder is 6lbs so the trout don't see the line, I didn't feel like unraveling my whole reel). The only luck I have had was with a buddy's Gulp salmon roe, so I bought some, but with no success.

Close on the Gulp but what works over here is Orange Pulp or Chartreuse, I also use Gulp eggs orange, chartreuse, or red. I do not have the leader too long as most trout are searching the bottom for snails, leeches, bugs, worms and some of the mosses........Jetspray BTW welcome to the boards.

LoganKuzyk
08-11-2014, 03:46 PM
Close on the Gulp but what works over here is Orange Pulp or Chartreuse, I also use Gulp eggs orange, chartreuse, or red. I do not have the leader too long as most trout are searching the bottom for snails, leeches, bugs, worms and some of the mosses........Jetspray BTW welcome to the boards.
Thanks.

Exactly how long is your leader? When I caught my only trout using off-the-bottom was when I used a FOUR FOOT LONG LEADER. Apparently it was effective, but almost impossible to cast. Now I use a 2ft-ish leader but I would love to hear what you use.

Captain Compassion
08-11-2014, 04:01 PM
Jetspray +1. It sez on the Gulp Label that it out fishes other baits by 55%. I can't argue with that. At places like ICR in late winter and early spring with little weeds an 8 inch leader is called for. Spring to summer depending on bottom up to 2 feet.

BTW welcome to the Sniffer Logan.

CC