PDA

View Full Version : Great Smoking Tips!

kinghntr
01-07-2006, 07:43 PM
Here is a great recipe and some very good tips from a veteran smoker. It's pretty lengthy but if you like to smoke your salmon it's a must read.

THIS IS WHAT I STARTED WITH AND I JUST USED WHAT I THOUGHT *
WOULD TASTE GOOD.
THE RECIPE AFTERWARDS IS *THE INSTRUCTIONS OF HOW TO PREPARE THE FISH AND WHAT TO DO IN THE SMOKER. IT IS ALSO THE BASE FOR MY RECIPE.

MY RECIPE IS AS FOLLOWS:

TWO CUPS "YOSHIDA'S sweet& savory MARINADE". FROM COSTCO
1/2 CUP "SOY VAY veri veri TERIYAKI MARINADE". FROM SAFEWAY
TWO TABLESPOONS "WORCESTERSHIRE SAUCE"
1/4 CUP RED WINE
1/4 CUP ZESTY ITALIAN SALAD DRESSING
ONE TABLESPOON GARLIC MINCED FROM COSTCO
TWO TABLEPOONS CANNING SALT DON"T USE TABLE SALT IF YOU USE ANY SALT AT ALL. *
THERE IS A LOT OF SALT IN THE YOSHIDA"S AND THE TERIYAKI MARINADE TO BEGIN WITH.

Smoked Salmon

Smoking salmon.

I have been smoking salmon for almost 25 years. This does not mean I’m an expert by any means, in fact, I am still learning from everyone I talk to about the subject. This discussion is to give you the basics that I was given by a guy named “Frenchy” back in the early 1980’s. Frenchy used to hang out at a little beer bar/tackle shop in Redwood City named Herb and Jim’s. I worked there and he took pity on me when he had to endure my first rudimentary attempts at smoking salmon. He shared with me and I’m sharing with you

First we have to understand that when we smoke salmon we are trying to preserve the fish in a way that will make it last long, taste good and give us a better reason to drink good beer and wine.