PDA

View Full Version : Lake Natoma (American River)

fishnchips
09-09-2014, 04:01 PM
Are there trout in Lake Natoma? Is it stocked?

Lifted
09-09-2014, 04:54 PM
Are there trout in Lake Natoma? Is it stocked?

From what I've heard the answer to both of those question is yes, but it's not always an easy place to catch fish. However, it's not a place many sniffers post reports on either.

Fireguy
09-09-2014, 04:56 PM
I would concentrate on the bluegills/crappies in there right now. my buddy used to live down the road from it

I dont know if they stock it, but I have been way upriver to the DO NOT CROSS OR YOU WILL BE SHOT sign across the river.

Very beautiful place to fish when the water is high. I haven't been out there much though

8theworm
09-09-2014, 05:48 PM
I've been fishing Natoma for over twenty years.
Yes there are trout in there, but they have not stocked it in several years.
The good news is there's giant trout in Natoma.
Bad news is they are extremely hard to catch.
The reason you don't see anyone fishing it is because it's a really tough place to catch fish, any fish.
It was a good small mouth fishery about 15 years ago but the largemouths are more plentiful now.
I've had an exceptional year there with a few bass over 5 lbs and a rainbow about 8lbs.
If you are looking for a real challenge this is the place.
If you do figure it out please catch and release because all the fish in there are wild.

thompsonwdavid
09-11-2014, 11:58 AM
The trout will become more hungry in the fall. From what I have experienced try and match the Japanese pond smelt. I believe that's what all those little fish are that swim in big schools. Early morning and minnow imitations. Those monsters in there fish eaters and everyone in a while you might get lucky and see one jump. Good luck.

Tyeechinook
09-15-2014, 11:57 PM
Very hard nut to crack. I've been fishing there for over 25 years and it still stumps me. I average one fish caught for about 10-12 trips out there.