PDA

View Full Version : Picture Size



Shenanigans
01-06-2008, 11:18 AM
I use image shack for posting my pics. My question is why they post so small. What setting or size should I be using to make them larger so that you donít have to click on the pic to see them?

Thanks for the help. Here is a example of what I am talking about.

http://img161.imageshack.us/img161/4131/hpim0206yz1.th.jpg (http://img161.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hpim0206yz1.jpg)

/me

drstressor
01-06-2008, 12:35 PM
Because you are using the link to the clickable thumbnail instead of the one to the full image. *It's best to use the Direct Link to Image at the bottom of the URLs. *However, your full image is too big to post on the sniffer forums. *You can't see a full image that is more than 475 pixels wide.

You can use the automatic resize function when you upload at Imageshack. *However, they only let you choose from a list of sizes. *320 X 240 is the only size that will fit.

Here's what your full sized image would look like:

http://img161.imageshack.us/img161/4131/hpim0206yz1.jpg

It's best to crop or re-size an image before uploading.

Shenanigans
01-06-2008, 01:34 PM
LOL WOW! well that makes since and thanks for the demo there. I will give it a try.

/me

Shenanigans
01-06-2008, 02:47 PM
OK I must be a little slow. I am confused as to how you load a picture at its normal size. I tried the tool bar and well now I am real jacked up. If someone would please take the time to give me a step by step guide that would be great, or a link to where the steps are posted at.

Thanks.

drstressor
01-06-2008, 04:23 PM
MetalMouth recently posted this at the top of the Saltwater forum:

http://www.fishsniffer.com/cgi-bin/forumsyabb/YaBB.pl?num=1196641859

He goes step by step how to post on Imageshack using their home page. That is the only way to access the resize function. If you use the toolbar, you need to have resized you image on your own computer first. Many cameras come with software that let you adjust images, including resizing picture. MetalMouth's post also includes a link to PIXresizer, which many of us feel is the best free image resizing software available. It lets you resize picture to any dimension and also allows you to resize multiple images at once.

When posting on the sniffer, you can either use the URL format suggested by MetalMouth or the Direct Link to Image that I prefer to use.

Shenanigans
01-06-2008, 07:30 PM
Thanks I will take a look. Keep your fingers crossed!

/me

Shenanigans
01-06-2008, 08:24 PM
It's best to use the Direct Link to Image at the bottom of the URLs

How do I do that?

I understand what you are saying but I donít know how to correct it. My wife is better at this than me and even she is lost as to how to upload the full size image instead of the thumbnail.

Sorry. :-[

/me

MB_Kevin
01-06-2008, 09:10 PM
If you have the box next to resize [resize image?] checked and select 320x240 before up loading it should come out the right size. *When you see the thumb nail come up click on it and then the right size pic should show up. *Right click on that pic and the copy the URL. *It should turn out this size.

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/2001/hpim0206yz1qi7.jpg

I'm glad you like the auto signature

/me ........then you can add words after it if you want

MB_Kevin
01-06-2008, 09:16 PM
*If you use the toolbar, you need to have resized you image on your own computer first. *

Oh, *Maybe that is why it didn't work when I tried to upload pic on the toolbar like you said in that other thread. *I didn't resize them so it was trying to upload a 6 meg pix picture. *I always thought it just froze and I exit. ;D

Probibly the same when I drag them into my posts and it just takes forever [smiley=duh.gif]

drstressor
01-06-2008, 10:27 PM
That's why it's always better to resize your image on your own computer first. A 450 X 338 (ideal for posting) image should be less than 100 KB and will upload very fast.

Shenanigans
01-06-2008, 10:43 PM
http://img185.imageshack.us/img185/7103/s30000291dn0.jpg

I used the image button and then pasted the URL in between the 2 img's. Donít know if that is the easiest way to do it but......

/me and how cool is that!

drstressor
01-06-2008, 10:49 PM
You can also paste the URL, highlight it by dragging your mouse over it with the left button depressed, and then clicking the picture tool icon. That will put the image codes at the beginning and the end of the URL.

Shenanigans
01-06-2008, 10:50 PM
Thanks for the help. Man I felt like a tard trying to figure this thing out.

/me

Mickey_Thomas
01-07-2008, 09:16 AM
If it was easy everyone would be doing it ;) we wouldn't want that now would we? ;D ;D ;D
http://momentoffame.com/photopost/data/525/medium/Ken_Mickey.jpg

metalmouth
01-07-2008, 09:24 AM
Mick, I think you were the last hold out. Everyone is doing it
now . . . ::) ;D 8-)

SuperDave
01-07-2008, 10:26 AM
Mick, I think you were the last hold out. Everyone is doing it
now . . . *::) ;D 8-)

But in true Mickey fashion, not doing it correctly. ;D 600 pixels is too wide. ;)

Mickey_Thomas
01-07-2008, 10:49 AM
Mick, I think you were the last hold out. Everyone is doing it
now . . . *::) ;D 8-)

But in true Mickey fashion, not doing it correctly. * ;D *600 pixels is too wide. * ;)
Tell MM Dave, that's one of the pic's he posted on the Salmon board, I just drug it over here to make a point, :D MM resized it I didn't ;D ;D ;D

metalmouth
01-07-2008, 11:34 AM
Mick,
That pic was posted before you needed to resize them.

Still, the best pic I've seen posted! :D

MM