PDA

View Full Version : Carp Fishing

Fisher_Lady
02-11-2009, 10:25 AM
Just getting into carp fishing, dont have to much experience but tryin to learn. Anyone willing to share some advice. Thanks. I caugt my first one about a month ago and now he got me hooked. ;D

MantecaMatt90
02-11-2009, 12:19 PM
I am also new to it and would love to know some good spots and whats the best bait to use? I live in Manteca which is just south of stockton and east of tracy. Thank you to all replies

UltraFace
02-11-2009, 12:54 PM
two manteca folks, you guys know each other? those pics look like theyve been taken in the same place lol.

anyway i dont know of any spots around manteca, but they are pretty common. ive had no look here in san jose or in my hometown of merced, ive tried a few times and havent got anything.

everyone says bread or corn for hook bait but the folks in europe use boilies and specialized rigs. i suppose they are more advanced as far as carp goes but it also seems like more hassle.

ive tried corn on the hook and bread but ive never got one to bite. the bite is supposed to pick up in spring tho.

nickjew1
02-11-2009, 01:37 PM
lol, yea it looks like the pictures were from the same place. umm the rivers will be slow right now, but ponds n lakes should still have some biting carp. im not too sure whats around manteca except bass pro...bread n corn with a small hook, and light line will work.

Fisher_Lady
02-11-2009, 02:00 PM
HA, I DID THINK ANYONE WOULD KNOW. WE'VE BEEN DATIN FOR OVER 3 YEARS. WERE FISHIN BUDDIES. SO HE TAGGED ON TO MINE. I CANT LET HIM OUT FISH ME. I CAUGHT THE FIRST CARP WE EVER SAW, AND WEVE BEEN GOIN OUT TO WITH CORN AND TO THIS POND WE CAUGHT IT IN AND HAVENT SEEN ANOTHER ONE SINCE. I CANT LET HIM GET A BIGGER FISH OR MORE THAN ME. WE WERE USING I THINK IT WAS A SIZE 4 HOOK AND CHICKEN LIVER WHEN WE CAUGHT THE FIRST ONE. WEVE BROUGHT CORN OUT THERE BUT NEVER EVEN GOT A NIBBLE.

MantecaMatt90
02-11-2009, 02:00 PM