PDA

View Full Version : DADGUMIT!

sacfishinfool
09-28-2008, 11:06 AM
So, yesterday around 4:PM I went out fishin' at Howe Ave Access, right by the bridge. I had two poles going, one deep out with a sardine, and the other I was drifting a night crawler under a bobber. The fishing was slow, so I started playing around with the crawdads, when all of the sudden my big ol bobber shot under water! It was only about two feet out from shore, so I was puzzled to what it might be. I reeled it in, and found this to my surprise:
http://www.opportunityca.com/howecat.jpg
Now, this is the American River so I wasn't expecting a catfish. It was only about 8 inches long...sorry the pic is so bad.
So, I figure since there are small ones, there has got to be some big ones out there somewhere. I reeled in my sardine, and swithched to worms then threw the line out a bit deeper to see what would happen. At this time it is about 7:PM After about 10 minutes, my pole starts jerking, and slams pretty hard, but no fish...got my bait. This goes on for the next two hours...just one more cast...all the while I am thinking that the access closes at 10:PM. I start getting hard hits, and thinking that any minute now I am gonna hook that big one.
9:45 rolls around, and I have to force myself to leave because I dont want to end up getting my truck locked in to the parking lot. I am rushing out of there in the dark, and I slip while going down this hill and land hard in the sticker bushes, while sliding down and down..stickers and rocks in my back.
Well, I rush like a madman down this road towrds the access parking lot and finally, I make it to my truck. I threw all of my gear in to the back and get ready to leave when I see the paper under my windshield wiper. A ticket. I drive out towards the access exit, and of course the gates are locked. *>:(