PDA

View Full Version : cryptosporidium ( Crypto )

Fishfinder
08-18-2017, 05:56 PM
I read in the Lodi newspaper today about an outbreak of a parasite called cryptosporidium. Being in our water system, also swimming pools ETC. I fish quit a bit in the Delta between Rio Vista and Sacramento, I also fish a lot of the local lakes. My question is are we in any danger of getting sick by eating fish from the Delta and local lakes? The fish I target are Salmon, Kokanee, Trout and Stripers.

Hookum Greg
08-18-2017, 06:40 PM
I worked in the drinking water industry for 30 yrs, filtering and disinfecting in attemp to kill these little guy's off. We were taught that Crytosporidium grow in the digestive system of warm blooded Mammals. They are released to the water ways through fecces ( Cows, Beavers,Deer etc). They are microscopic in the 4 micron size, and can cause savere diarrea if consumed in the drinking water. I have never heard of them growing in cold blooded fish.
Somebody in the local treatment plant blew-it big time allowing these parasites to enter your local distrabution system. Don't drink the water until they clear up the problem. Normal Chorination and filtration should be the fix. Hope this helps, Greg

salmonid
08-18-2017, 06:52 PM
Wow I hadn't heard of this. Is it limited to Lodi?

Fishfinder
08-18-2017, 09:31 PM
San Joaquin County health officials are reporting an increase in the number of reported cases of Cryptosporidiosis, or “Crypto” this summer.