PDA

View Full Version : Lower stani blown out for the opener!

phishndad
12-26-2017, 03:36 PM
I've been keeping an eye on releases ftom goodwin dam the last few weeks in anticipation of the opener jan.1st. Just today releases have shot way up and as far out as I can see which is jan. 2nd scheduled releases will stay high. The water levels and scheduled releases on the other local trout/steelhead rivers that open on the 1st look promising. Any recommendations on which of the other local rivers to hit for the opener? I have limited experience on the Moke and Merced rivers and I have never fished the lower Toulumne for trout. Kind of leaning towards the merced or Moke. Any suggestions?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

stefanoflo
12-26-2017, 08:49 PM
I've been keeping an eye on releases ftom goodwin dam the last few weeks in anticipation of the opener jan.1st. Just today releases have shot way up and as far out as I can see which is jan. 2nd scheduled releases will stay high. The water levels and scheduled releases on the other local trout/steelhead rivers that open on the 1st look promising. Any recommendations on which of the other local rivers to hit for the opener? I have limited experience on the Moke and Merced rivers and I have never fished the lower Toulumne for trout. Kind of leaning towards the merced or Moke. Any suggestions?

Moke is good . The American in Sacramento has Bigger fish / sometimes you will get a 10LBS + steelhead
even if you have never fished a Certain river, It always good to go. the More you go the better . you learn all the good and bad spots and you learn the Rivers Personality as well.I`ve always thought the more rivers you Know the More fish You can catch.I have Certain Rods for Certain Rivers. Big Rods for Big fish rods that handle 8-12 LBS line(steel head rod) and Smaller rod That hold 6-10 LBs for Smaller fish,Normally my trout rod. New rivers are fun and Challenging .

phishndad
12-26-2017, 09:29 PM