PDA

View Full Version : Need help crabbing

NorCalNative
11-04-2018, 12:11 PM
As my post history states, I'm fairly new to die hard fishing. Use to fish a lot in my twenties out of an aluminum small boat in the bay - now I have an 18 footer and want to go hit the ocean.

I have a week off of work to go for crabs or anything else really to fill the freezer, but I'd like to at least get a few days of some crabbing.

Anyone else have some pots and some time - but maybe missing the boat?

Seon
11-04-2018, 01:13 PM
What type boat is your 18'-er? Hopefully not a low gunnel like a bass boat. Ocean can get rough fast so those type of boat loaded with crab gear do not do well out there. Also you may need a Davit if you drop deep. Just some thought. Best of luck.

NorCalNative
11-04-2018, 02:02 PM
What type boat is your 18'-er? Hopefully not a low gunnel like a bass boat. Ocean can get rough fast so those type of boat loaded with crab gear do not do well out there. Also you may need a Davit if you drop deep. Just some thought. Best of luck.

Thanks for looking out. It is a larson bowrider - not the best fishing boat but better equipped for the ocean than a bass boat lol. In another post I mentioned trying to get past the gate in it when the swells were bad and I didn't chance it - so it's a fair weather ocean boat I would reckon.

I suppose without a davit and with such a small boat - I'd be limited in # of pots and depth - but shouldn't stop me.

Seon
11-04-2018, 03:18 PM
SOLD

If you're interested in some pots I have three Danielson 24" squares all rigged with about 180' shots, 15# weights and have been modified with correct cords so all you'll need are 3 buoys. $40/each.

KERPOW
11-04-2018, 05:32 PM