PDA

View Full Version : Lake Comanche info?

gmdcdvm
01-19-2019, 09:13 PM
Hey Everyone,
I have been debating making the drive to Lake Comanche to take my 8-year-old son fishing. Being from the east bay it is about an hour and forty minutes to get there. Just wondering if it is worth the trip and when it would be a good time to go. I have read about the trout pond at the south entrance. Wondering if I should take him there vs renting a boat and checking out the lake itself. Keep in mind I am a relative novice fisherman when it comes to freshwater and lake fishing. Any info you provide would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Gerry

Stickman
01-19-2019, 10:40 PM
Hey Everyone,
I have been debating making the drive to Lake Comanche to take my 8-year-old son fishing. Being from the east bay it is about an hour and forty minutes to get there. Just wondering if it is worth the trip and when it would be a good time to go. I have read about the trout pond at the south entrance. Wondering if I should take him there vs renting a boat and checking out the lake itself. Keep in mind I am a relative novice fisherman when it comes to freshwater and lake fishing. Any info you provide would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Gerry

Hi Gerry, I want to affirm your plan for trying the trout pond at Comanche vs renting a boat and working the main lake. Camanche is a very large lake and can be tough to fish even if you are not "a relative novice." I don't know what the cost would be of renting a boat for the day, but I am sure that your money would be better spent hiring a guide. You could spend your time learning how to fish the lake and actually fishing with your son instead of navigating the rental boat. On future trips to any of the "foothill" lakes you can rent a boat if you like and have a pretty good idea how to go after some fish.