PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here...

Trout_Terminator
07-24-2005, 05:35 PM
After reading this board I have got interested in trying to catch a catfish. And I was wondering on what I should use to do it. I am going to be going up to sly park, and I have heard that they have them up there. So I was wondering what I could use for bait, what lb test, and what types of hooks? For bait, I heard that hotdogs work pretty well. But what do you think about it? And how do I rig my pole for cats? Sorry for all of the questions, I just want to catch some fish!
Thanks For The Help,

-Trout Terminator.

freddy45
07-24-2005, 07:32 PM
hello! Here is all you need to know: http://www.fishsniffer.com/cgi-bin/forumsyabb/YaBB.pl?board=fresh_cat;action=display;num=1120178 330 Have fun!

Tm_Customs
07-24-2005, 07:34 PM
I think hot dogs suck, just use something that stinks alot sardies are my favorite. It does not matter what # line you use I have cought 5lbers on 4lb test but normally use 20lb just so the fish dont knick it alot and I have to retie less. Catfish are by far the easiest fish to catch just throw out and wait night time is best.

Diego916
07-25-2005, 11:16 AM
For rigs, here's a good thread: http://www.fishsniffer.com/cgi-bin/forumsyabb/YaBB.pl?board=fresh_cat;action=display;num=1120883 896

I agree with Tim on hot dogs. The first time my dad took me fishing for cats over 20 years ago, he used hot dogs and we got skunked! The half-dozen or so times I've used them since, I haven't caught squat on dogs.

I prefer night crawlers and live minnows/bluegill for bait. Big hooks, big bait.

surfnturf
07-25-2005, 12:23 PM
My favorite for catfish is a mini crawler on a #6 or #8 Kahle hook and some attractant. Sometimes bread dough works well too, but carp like it too. My personal best cat, a 12.5lber was out of Lake Elizabeth in Fremont with bread dough. Crawlers seem to be more consistent though, and you toss in the opportunity of hitting other species as well.

Trout_Terminator