PDA

View Full Version : Shad Fishing....

Anti_Hero_Fisher
05-01-2007, 12:15 PM
How do you fish for them? Do you use a worm weight with a jig head and a grub at the end and just cast out maybe 30 feet and reel in slowly?

And when do they normally come in the Sac area?

I know I am new to Shad and never seen one in my LIFE and want to start going for them...

And can you eat them also?

Fish On

AHF

kingcole
05-01-2007, 12:26 PM
Look above in the pegged threads the one that says shad fishing and click on the Shad Fishing 101. i made a pretty lengthy post and several others have chimed in.

Once you read it all if you still ahve questions ask on that thread and I am sure several people will respond.

They have just started to filter in give it another couple weeks and you should be able to start getting them. All of June is hot for shad.

Anti_Hero_Fisher
05-01-2007, 12:43 PM
Hey I just started to read the info on that stuff!!! Its great thanks fellow sniffers!!!!

But can you eat shad? And would you fillet it or skin it? Or prepare it like how you would do for a striper?

And how many shad can you keep?

As again if I see this in other forms I am sorry I am repeating

Thanks

AHF

Ps I really want to go shad fishing now!!!

kingcole
05-01-2007, 12:47 PM
You said it... Just read those links that have been pegged up top and it will cover every question you just had plus 13 more that you didn't realize you were going to have about Shad.

ric1ric
05-01-2007, 04:27 PM
Last Year I smoked up a bunch of shad the wife and the Mother in law ate them up as fast as I could smoke em. But they are Norwiegns and they do love fish and bones don't bother them.

surge
05-01-2007, 04:47 PM
How do you fish for them? Do you use a worm weight with a jig head and a grub at the end and just cast out maybe 30 feet and reel in slowly?

And when do they normally come in the Sac area?

I know I am new to Shad and never seen one in my LIFE and want to start going for them...