PDA

View Full Version : Place to start

fishhawk101
10-22-2005, 08:29 AM
I'm new to the Santa Rosa area and I have a smaller boat (16') that is setup for midwest fishing. I'm looking for suggestions on a lake to get my CA fishing career started.

I'm interested in bass and trout equaly.

Clear lake's size is a little scary to me. Are there any areas that I can hide from the wind and still have a shot at a big fish? Do the landing get quite crowded?

Would IVR be a good choice for me because of it's size? I'm interested in the combo of bass and trout there.

Lake Sonoma is the closest lake but I don't seem to see much information on it. Should I stay close to home and learn this lake?

Also, any advice on lake maps and bait/tackle stores?

Thanks and sorry for the general questions. I feel like I need to pair down some of the options and just get a line wet. Thanks for any suggestions!!!

fish4fun
10-22-2005, 09:11 PM