PDA

View Full Version : minnow trap

fenton_chris
10-11-2005, 08:19 PM
never really uses minoows much, but id thought id start trying. so i just bought one. what now? i assume i use it like a crawdad trap. do i put bait in it? is so what kind?

Mr_Ed
10-11-2005, 10:31 PM
I have had my best luck getting minnows into the trap with:
Dry dog food , can of cat food with holes in it, and also old dry bread. I'm not a pro at minnows but this works for me. (At Tahoe go out where the rocks are).
PS Hide or watch your traps; they can get stolen.

fenton_chris
10-12-2005, 01:15 PM
yeah i learned that with my crawdad trap at ice house right in from of my campsite >:( while is was out on the lake

Reno_Reeler
10-12-2005, 02:02 PM
Two day old donuts work well at Tahoe for some reason.**http://img438.imageshack.us/img438/4776/donut7cp.gif**http://img438.imageshack.us/img438/427/winksmile29kz.gif

Mickey_Thomas
10-12-2005, 02:30 PM
Hey RR, that's Hammers trick and it's a secret ::) ;D We trapped at least 40 minnows in about 3 hours in the water with donuts. ;) I laughed at him when he put them in but guess who had the last laugh? That's right, Hammer 8)

fenton_chris
10-12-2005, 04:21 PM
as long as no one pisses me off, i wont be throwing anyaway! :P thanks 4 the input guys. 8)

MB_Kevin
10-12-2005, 07:57 PM
I bet the donuts break up in the water and are like flakes for the fish floating all over.
What is the difference between the minnow trap and the crawdad traps I seen some on Ebay that where minnow traps that looked just like my crawdad trap.

Reno_Reeler
10-12-2005, 09:32 PM
Mickey,

I didn't torture Hammer for the secret.**When I went out on a mackinaw fishing charter boat on Tahoe a couple of years ago, they used the donuts that the clients didn't eat.

M.B.

Larger holes on the ends. Also the crawdad traps usually are longer with a middle section added in.

FishinFool408
10-13-2005, 05:32 AM