PDA

View Full Version : Ever had one of those days?

Mr_Ed
09-28-2005, 09:44 AM
I get a kick when I see " I'm new at fishing" headers etc.
I started wetting a line at 10 years and am now an "ol phart" at 61. With all my years of been there,done that; how the heck can I still get skunked when I go fishing!!!It's like I don't know what I'm doing! (Is that boat in front of me Donzi?) Has this happened to you? Is the "Man"upstairs just picking on me? Later...Ed

catfished
09-28-2005, 10:19 AM
Hi Ed

It happens to me way too often and I started fishing when I was 12 yrs old and I'm an old, old phart of 65 years. ;D

vito
09-28-2005, 10:32 AM
I like to think that if we caught fish every time we went, then it wouldn't be as exciting the next time we go. That helps me. :)

Rusty_Hooks
09-28-2005, 10:44 AM
I caught so many fish as a kid and while going to college...I figured I was over due for a skunk or two and just write it off.....

However....I have given the fish gods alot of free time in the last ten years...without fishing...Soooo ::)

ratss427
09-28-2005, 05:33 PM
thats fishing ;).been using the same lures .trolled the same way.at the same depth.at the same speed.on the same diameter line.with the same leader legnth....... :P you get the idea!.and was skunked while my buddies knocked em dead.go figure? :-[ to this day they still razz me.and to this day,after trying to rationalize it,i can't explain it.but hey,thats what keeps you going back. :)

Farrier_Frank
09-28-2005, 06:36 PM
The Man-Up-Stairs hasn't singled you out for a skunk, Mr. Ed. That happens to all of us. And those who claim they never get skunked are blowing smoke. Some of my best days on the water were skunks; some of the skunk days ended with story's that go on forever. A skunk isn't a bad thing: it just happens - usually when you don't expect it.

Set_The_Hook
09-28-2005, 07:05 PM
Ed,
Just don't forget that fishing and no catching is still much better than working ;D
Bill

drstressor