PDA

View Full Version : Does wind effect fishing?

new2fishing
09-24-2005, 12:18 PM
I'm new to fishing. Does wind effect the fishes bite? Bass, Salmon, or striper?

ken_fishnfool
09-24-2005, 12:29 PM
It mostly affects the fishermans ability to fish the way he wants. Casting, presentation, drift speed, etc.
Some fish prefer a little choppy surface as opposed to still water.
Wind does make the baitfish move around, stirs things up.

Empire
09-25-2005, 06:35 AM
I have found a noticeably improved bite when the water's surface is chopped up, especially during the winter.

My theory is that birds cannot see well into choppy water, and the fish know it. They can cruise the surface looking for some tasty morsel.

Reno_Reeler
09-25-2005, 08:41 AM
With wind, it is more difficult to feel what's going on at the business end of your line. Detecting subtle takes is next to impossible.

Of course if you are trolling, this is not an issue. The wind will force you to make more trolling corrections and demands much more boat driving attention for a safe outing.

http://img44.imageshack.us/img44/5381/manfishinglgwht5bd.gif

Silver_Streak
09-26-2005, 09:02 AM