PDA

View Full Version : rookie fisherman

hulzy
08-25-2005, 09:28 AM
My son and I are just starting to fish, and unfortunately I grew up a city boy and saying I am a novice fisherman would be a stretch. We spend time in CO up in the mountains near ponds and streams and was wondering what are some of the basics. We have two poles license etc with some lures no boat and my son (7) can cast but do we cast out reel in slowly or immediately or put on a bobber and let it stay for bit We would appreciate any coaching thanks

FishinFool408
08-25-2005, 09:46 AM
Welcome to the boards hulzy! So, are you saying that you'll be fishing in Colorado? And if you know, what species of fish will you be fishing for or are available in the ponds & streams that you'll be fishing?

SuperDave
08-25-2005, 09:58 AM
My buddy retired to CO last year and I went out to visit/fish. We fished from the bank and float tube. What part of Colorado are you in? The lakes of Colorado are, in general, pretty small compared to our CA lakes. I caught lots of Rainbows on Powerbait as well as a variety of spinners. I even hooked a giant Pike at Rifle Gap Res. in my float tube. That was good for a ride.

When fishing the streams, use lures, eggs or worms and cast up stream. Start reeling immediately and just slow enough to keep your offering from hanging up in the bottom. Expect to lose a lot of gear stream fishing as you will get lots of snags trying to learn the right speed. For lakes, bring your lawn chairs and relax.

sneak1000
08-25-2005, 10:20 AM
Trout fishing (i assume thats what they catch in Co.) can be done in a number of ways but the most productive for a newbie to learn would be the "ol'powerbait and wait" method. Get a smaller hook, mabye a size 6 or and 8, slap two or three small lead pinch weights about 12- 30in from the hook, cast out and have a great day with your son. '
Oh yea WHEN you get a bite dont forget to set that hook!!! ;D

BassFooler
08-25-2005, 11:44 AM