PDA

View Full Version : newbie wanting to catch fish

doccjc
08-04-2005, 08:07 AM
Great forum,,, newbie here,,, just came across your site last week, hoping someone can help...
I am looking to take my son fishing for anything,, just somewhere where he could catch anything,, just for the action We are in the San mateo area and were hoping to do a day trip,, we've tried Lake Merced (real slow), Lake Chabot,(2 trips, one bite), I am looking for any spot where he may experience some action,,, willing to even try salt water fishing, pacifica Pier? or Half Moon bay... we even bought a crabbing net, and had some fun at Pier 2 at monterey Bay,, caught 1 crab,,,, tried jigging for smelt,,, no luck,, If we do go salt water,, any ideas where to get setups and poles? So if anyone can steer us in the right direction, fresh, salt,,, (no boat acccess though),,, it would be much appreciated...

Thanks,, and great site...

Doc

FishinFool408
08-04-2005, 09:02 AM
Welcome to the boards Doccjc! *There are many places you can take your son fishin. *Your best bet is to just read the previous threads for the info you are looking for. *The gear you purchase all depends on the type of fishing you want to do. *Good luck regardless!

Mickey_Thomas
08-04-2005, 10:15 AM
doccjc, welcome to the boards, you might try Berryessa, there's a few places there to catch Bass and Crappie off the shore line. Post a question on the Pan Fish Forum and ask where to go at Berryessa, you won't need a lot of gear, just 2 rods and reels and maybe some weights and hooks and bait. Good luck 8)

BassFooler
08-04-2005, 01:41 PM
Welcome to the boards doccjc!!

doccjc
08-04-2005, 05:42 PM
Anyone try Parkway lake in San Jose? * Lake Berryessa is worth a try,,, * We've been skunked at Lake Chabot and Lake Merced,,, would be nice to have a well stocked lake close by ....

johnbfishin
08-04-2005, 10:31 PM
Welcometo the boards doccjc.