PDA

View Full Version : Carp Help!

timored105
07-06-2005, 09:08 PM
Can anybody please tell me a really good rig i can use to catch big carp on a deep river. What hooks bait and weight number. Any help would be great. thank you all. Ill tell you how it went when i go.

surfnturf
07-06-2005, 11:20 PM
The speed of the river all depends on what rig to use. If the river is stagnant or very slow I would just use a 1/8 sliding sinker, size 12 snap swivel and 1 foot leader with corn or bread as the bait. If the river is fast you will need more weight and a different rig that I have no experience with. Be sure to use stout rod and line for big carp. I hauled in one over 20lbs in a local reservoir with wood in the water in the shoreline, almost netted him after an epic 15 minute fight only to watch helplessly as my cheap 10lb mono took a rub on a branch and broke. Many are having luck with the new braided lines, maybe try one of them.

timored105
07-07-2005, 12:52 AM
Thank You very much SURFNTURF. I learned a lot. Iam only 14 so iam trying to learn while iam young. If there is anything SURFNTURF missed, please add on. It will be helpful. Thank You all. :) ;)

FRIDAY
07-07-2005, 05:43 AM
Ditto on what surfnturf said

But in a fast moving river stick with a sliding sinker and a pole with a very sensitive tip because carp bite really soft. Also, if the bread or dough bait wont stay on in the current try crawdad tails, I know some people who have had good success with them on the river. :)

FRIDAY

surfnturf
07-07-2005, 06:51 AM
Thank You very much SURFNTURF. I learned a lot. Iam only 14 so iam trying to learn while iam young. If there is anything SURFNTURF missed, please add on. It will be helpful. Thank You all. *:) ;)