PDA

View Full Version : Transducer cable help



kaliona
12-20-2009, 09:06 AM
Got my new HDS-5 and am installing the transducer...or trying to* :'(* The existing hole through my transom is 7/8" diameter.* The new transducer cable twist lock won't fit through this opening.* It's about 1/16" larger* >:(* Does anyone know if this Lowrance blue connector twist lock part can be removed?* If so, I could then feed the cable through, then reconnect the twist lock portion.* Otherwise I'll have to try to enlarge the hole which I really don't want to do. It's JUST the twist lock portion that won't fit through, the rest of the connector is ok.

Seon
12-20-2009, 10:59 AM
I think it's hard wired so unless you cut the line which I wouldn't recommend, you'll have to enlarge the hole.

ReelJerks
12-21-2009, 01:19 AM
It can be taken off but I wouldn't go there. Plus, think about what you do when that one fails somehow :-/

Time to get the Dremmel tool out or a simple round file and open the existing hole a bit, and you'll probably need a larger clamshell also.

Good luck,
Edd

Dennis
12-21-2009, 02:04 PM
Depending on the thickness of the transom, you might try a step drill bit.*


http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/photos/96200-96299/96275.gif

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=96275

ReelJerks
12-22-2009, 01:20 AM
Depending on the thickness of the transom, you might try a step drill bit.*


http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/photos/96200-96299/96275.gif

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=96275

Where's the lights and balls and tinsel?

Make sure to heavily tape the stopping point on those.

Edd

kaliona
12-22-2009, 02:01 AM
That's my plan. I found a step drill bit that goes to 1". Should be perfect.......I hope.