PDA

View Full Version : need help getting started in surf fishing

juskickinit
06-13-2008, 08:41 PM
so im new to surf fishing. what kind of rod and reel should i get? looking for something light and durable. i was looking into the shimano stradi ST4000FI would that work? what kind of line should i get braided or mono and how my LB test? and whats the best lures to get? pictures and info would be great so i have a idea.

thx -juskickinit

Double_D
06-14-2008, 04:40 AM
Just starting out......throw buck tails/hair raisers 1/2 to 3/4 oz./Kastmasters to 2 oz., look at a Lami Surf King rod(I don't like them, I've broke two in half)or the new Shakespeare Ugly Stick surf rod, and your ST4000 pair it with a 10' foot rod........and buy this book, it will answer lots of questions....

http://www.fishsniffer.com/cgi-bin/forumsyabb/YaBB.pl?num=1206026441

juskickinit
06-14-2008, 08:11 AM
any places i could purchase that book besides online? like barnes and nobles

FishinRaiders
06-14-2008, 08:44 AM
go to the beach and watch the other guys..guys are either fishing hair raisers or bucktails or kastmasters like Double D said

Or you can bait fish with pile worms or anchovies..

ghostfish_slayer
06-14-2008, 06:49 PM
you might check out the DBLUE 50-60 dollar surf rods at that auction place.. even some of those who are well past starting out use them. i am thinking about getting myself one and i wrap my own rods.. that stradic 4000 is a decent reel.. i would get a older stradic instead of the fi though.. i have had a few problems with my new 3000fi..

juskickinit
06-15-2008, 12:26 AM
ohh alright ill look into the DBLUE. any other rods that are good trying to find something for hair raisers (rod length and lure weight) and also a 11 ft rod for popers and and such and sugestions on poles?

Double_D
06-15-2008, 05:54 AM