PDA

View Full Version : HAVE BOAT: RIVER SALMON EXPERIENCE NEEDED

FF_MYRL
08-30-2005, 03:03 PM
I WOULD LIKE TO LEARN TO TROLL AND JIG FOR SALMON IN THE SAC. AND MOKE. RIVERS. I HAVE A 1997 19' MONARK WITH A 7.5' BEAM IT HAS A 90 HP MERCURY O/B WITH TROLL PLATE AND A 4 STROKE 15HP YAMAHA KICKER. I DO NOT HAVE DOWNRIGGERS, BUT FROM WHAT I HEAR THEY ARE NOT NEEDED IN THE RIVERS. I LIVE IN MURPHYS, CA, CALAVERAS COUNTY. IT'S 93 MILES FOR ME TO GET TO BRANNON ISLAND BOAT LAUNCH AND ABOUT THE SAME TO WIMPY'S OR NEW HOPE. I WOULD BE WILLING TO TAKE MY BOAT OR YOURS. I WOULD BE WILLING TO TRAVEL NORTH TO SACRAMENTO, IF NEEDED. BUT I WOULD REALLY LIKE TO LEARN THE RIO VISTA AREA.

I AM A 31 YEAR OLD ENGINEER/FIREFIGHTER AND MY DAYS OFF ROTATE. IF ANYONE IS INTERESTED PLEASE PM ME.THANK YOU.

L HALL
08-30-2005, 06:41 PM
Hey Murphys guy-- would be glad to tell you all about it--E mail me last of sept. --let jet skiers and water skiers have it a while longer--biggest run in Oct.

FF_MYRL
08-30-2005, 07:31 PM
I WILL EMAIL YOU LATER IN SEPT. WHAT AREA DO YOU FISH? DO YOU TROLL OR JIG OR BOTH? I HAVE PICKED UP SOME BLUE FOX SPINNERS AND SOME GIBBS SPOONS,I HEAR THEY WORK. BUT I HAVE NEVER FISHED FRESH WATER FOR SALMON.

trouser_trout
08-30-2005, 08:34 PM
FF MYRL,

push your "Caps Lock" key again. :P

TT

MadCanoe
08-31-2005, 05:05 AM
Dear Sir -
A Fish Finder is a must for finding schools.
Once you find the fish then just a good presentation of the common lures or roe is all you will need. Make sure you are getting to the bottom. a trolling three way and 1 ounce or sometimes more will do the trick. After all of that.... I wish I could go to help but can't..... -=Cy

14_blast
08-31-2005, 11:38 AM
FF_MYRL,

I already posted this a week or so ago, but it could help you.

imho, a reel with a line counter loaded with spectra is a must as well as a 7' to 8'6" rod with backbone and a light tip so you can see your lure working.

I found this on Can's website:

Salmon Trolling Techniques