PDA

View Full Version : Freeport/Clarkesburgh

Matt_G
03-03-2008, 09:57 AM
Hello All, Been reading theese boards for the last year or so, and finally decided to register!! I am new to Sturgeon fishing this year, but not to the Sac. Got skunked 3 times last week out at clarkesburgh using ghost shrimp and pile worms. Fished early one morning down river from the boat ramp towards Merit Landing, fished up river a couple miles up at night with nothing to show. Very Frustrated at this point. Using 50lb Gorilla line 3 foot 30lb test steel leeders. Dropping off of the side of the boat with 8oz balls and hitting the bottom. Any advice to help get some fish on the lines?

RENOBOYS
03-03-2008, 10:19 AM
We actually cast our lines out a ways. I think that this helps keep the bait on the bottom. It is crucial to have your bait on the bottom. Ghost/Pile is a good combo, I prefer Ghost/Grass combo my self. I believe that the minimum for a leader is 18". Correct me if I am wrong, but I am pretty sure that is the minimum. The closer the bait is to the hook, the closer to the bottom it is. We fish down by Pittsburg. We used to fish Decker Isl. Power Lines, haven't had luck up there, but many people do.

Good Luck!! As soon as you hook one, keeper or not, you will be hooked for life

GoT HeeeeM
03-03-2008, 09:12 PM
went out today again after weekend trips were cancelled via wind conditions...had ghost as bait for nothin but a couple of taps all day...fished several areas, saw one smaller one and a 64' caught...lots of jumpers!!

as for advice MATT G, i'd say keep trying and it'll happen for you...instead of ball weights try the pyramid 8oz..also try huggin the bank about 15 yards off instead of anywhere in the middle...we marked alot of fish today right on the bank line..

*Deltadog*
03-04-2008, 07:58 AM