PDA

View Full Version : Sturgeon Fishing with Capt. Kevin Lucky Strike

bassingus
02-19-2008, 05:18 PM
Hello all,
I am new to sturgeon fishing so I decided to book a trip on a charter. That day was Sunday the 17th of February. *:)
Kevin did a great job for us, everything was ready for us, bait, rods, chairs, everything. He took us out to several spots and we marked many fish all over the place. *
Well as all of you that were out there know, it was a tough day. I think that we were pretty lucky in though many ways. We had tons of bits throughout the day but we were just too late on the hookset. Capt. Kevin was patient and very diligent in his teachings. Also, those breakfast burritos are some of the best I've had and let me tell you, I've had a bunch in my life. *
One of my buds, Rob, missed a few good bits, I think he actually had one on but he allowed some slack in the line and it was gone. Then it happened, tap, tap, tap. Rob swings too set the hook and it "FISH-ON" baby. Keep in mind that this is Rob's first sturgeon on the line that is over 18" long so we are all going crazy.
Also, during this time, Rob's hat with all his lic., tags, stamps, etc. get knocked off his head and into the drink. Of course he freaks out and we are all over him yelling that he is fishing illegally and that he should hand over the rod to a "legal" angler. I'm sure you can imagine what his reply was to us and it wasn't "Ok, here you go"! * >:(.
Back to the fight, the fish is at the boat and Capt. Kevin is ready with the snare. a little more guidance and he snares the fish and in the boat it comes. Rob is going crazy as he lands his first "keeper", a really nice fat pig. Out comes the tape and man, it's just under the slot limit so back into the water it must go. More ribbing on Rob for losing his license. *;D. Pictures to come.