PDA

View Full Version : What do sturgeon look like on the fish finder?

liketofishalot
01-22-2008, 05:42 AM
I am a noobie and I have no clues as to how to operate my fish finder even after reading the 200 plus pages in the manual. I have been fiddling with the fish finder ever since I got it and so far have learned a little about reading what is being displayed as far as fish arches and structure goes. So for sturgeon's since they hug the bottom, do they show up as arches on the bottom or am I wasting my time trying to find sturgeon's with a fish finder since they aren't suspended like other fish? Any help is greatly appreciated and the unit I am working with is the Lowrance LMS-520C.

dbass
01-22-2008, 07:56 AM
Don't get but I'm no experts, but to me they look like a grass shrimp.

Reel-Lentless
01-22-2008, 08:05 AM
I don't know what kind of fish finder you have but, all sturgeon don't hug the bottom but those are the ones we are looking for as those are the ones feeding, feeding sturgeon appear at about a 45 degree arch on your finder as they feed with there head down rooting around on the bottom. I have duel frequencys on my Furuno and on high freq. they appear as cigars, no archs but on low freq they have the pronounced arch and also on low freq. you have a wider cone and you are seeing more of the bottom. I am sure someone will post a picture of there graph with sturgeon on it. Good luck out there

ibanezax
01-22-2008, 08:38 AM
:)
I was fishing with a friend of mine at the Mothball fleet, and on his Fish Finder they showed up as poles sticking straight up off the bottom!!

ZACK
01-22-2008, 09:12 AM