PDA

View Full Version : Re: Your landing net may be illegal



metalmouth
01-15-2008, 02:47 PM
The info is here: Link (http://www.fishsniffer.com/cgi-bin/forumsyabb/YaBB.pl?num=1200426697/1#1)

metalmouth
01-15-2008, 03:03 PM
This is easier:


calamari

Your landing net may be illegal
Today at 3:38pm I talked with a friend and he reminded me about a ticket he'd recieved in the past for an illegal landing net. He was fishing and was checked and found to have a net that was over 36" in greatest dimension which is illegal to have within 100 yards of any river, stream, lake or reservoir in the state.
I checked my big net and found that it was ok when measured in one direction but way over when measured in another. There was a recent post that showed a sturgeon that was over 50" laying flat in a landing net. Time to measure your net and for me to leave the big one at home. Too bad because it's one of those real purty tear drop models that are so easy to use.
See Sec. 2.09

STURGEONSTOMPER
01-15-2008, 03:17 PM
Come on, give me a break....Realy...My net is huge. Way over 36"

Go figure, whats next. 4 foot restrictions on poles >:(

BIG_ONE
01-15-2008, 05:57 PM
What the?! i thought only thing that is illegal is using a gaff or a weapon to get the fish?! now a net that is over 36"?! but what if we hooked on a fish that is very huge and we need a big net so we can get it without harming it??? what will we do??? >:(

metalmouth
01-15-2008, 06:13 PM
It looks as if the F&G is working against itself on this one. :-/ :-? ::)

cordovapastor
01-15-2008, 06:42 PM
I just measured my NEW net bought so I could handle a sturgeon...
35" x you guessed it *37 1/2! *Lucky it's new and unused so I might be able to return it. *I don't get it, what are they worried about with a large net? * Thanks for the heads up. *It could have been a very expensive net.

metalmouth
01-15-2008, 07:06 PM
They aren't looking for 35 x 37 for the most part but if it's new. . .

They are looking for nets they consider large enough to be used for illegal take.

fishmaster
01-16-2008, 06:40 AM
Isn't there a minimum size the net has to be as well?

SPORTcoupe
01-16-2008, 08:58 AM
Isn't there a minimum size the net has to be as well?
You mean for getting your goldfish out of your aquarium? I believe it has to fit the goldfish to be effective. ;D

~Alan

GN.
01-16-2008, 09:02 AM
There is a minimum size in salt water. 18 inches. There doesn't appear to be a minimum in fresh water.