PDA

View Full Version : sturgeon from the bank

FRIDAY
11-04-2004, 08:18 PM
Hey everyone

I'd like to try some sturgeon fishing from the bank sometime this weekend. But I don't know any good spots. Anybody have any suggestions on were to go and what kind of rig to use? I'm new to sturgeon fishing so any and all info is greatly appreciated.

Thanx
FRIDAY

MB_Kevin
11-05-2004, 12:23 AM
I dont know much but if i was going i would try the dumbarton peir. rigging is on other posts on this board. I guess it depends on where you live.
good luck

Fishtale
11-05-2004, 07:42 AM
I would try Montezuma....setup and directions are on earlier posts. Good luck!!!!

Mr.Pescador
11-05-2004, 08:01 PM
Fishing from the Dumbarton pier sucks.If you don't get the spot on the very end you're wasting your time.You have to reach the channel.Check out the thread titled "shore bound".It's got directions to Montezuma,that's where I'm going tomorrow.Maybe I'll see you there.

FRIDAY
11-05-2004, 08:26 PM
Hey Mr. P.
What time will you be out there? I'll try to make it out there as well. I'll be the guy with a camoflouge hat and a beer. Do you have more detailed directions just in case I get lost ( I'm good at that).

thanx
FRIDAY

FRIDAY
11-05-2004, 08:48 PM
Oh Yeah, I'm leaving from sacramento.

FRIDAY

dogfish30
11-06-2004, 05:26 AM
I grew up fishing Montezuma and landed lots of sturgeon out there. Go over the big bridge and the road goes to the left. Go about a half a mile and you'll see a small pier. This is called the red barn. There used to be one there. If you can get a spot on the pier it's the best spot. About a hundred yards farther up the road you'll see where the road turns to the right and what looks like a great spot. DON'T FISH THERE! SNAGS! SNAGS! AND MORE SNAGS! Good luck. DF30 ;)

Mr.Pescador
11-06-2004, 05:41 PM