PDA

View Full Version : Clam beds

fshrmn
12-05-2007, 11:22 PM
I'm pretty new to sturgeon fishing so I was wondering how does one know or think they are over a clam bed? How does it look like on the sonar? What are some of your methods to determine if it is a clam bed. Thanks and happy fishing!

Luke
12-06-2007, 04:50 AM
If you find them on your anchor or bait you are on clams.
Luke

white_cap
12-06-2007, 07:11 AM
I have found a lot of the clam beds are gone around Suisun, and Grizzly bays . I believe the old mitten crab had a lot to do with that. Iím still looking to find a good bed.

chiselchest
12-06-2007, 07:18 AM
I have found a lot of the clam beds are gone around Suisun, and Grizzly bays . I believe the old mitten crab had a lot to do with that. Iím still looking to find a good bed.

Just a thought, but maybe the change in salinity due to extreme exports of water have changed conditions enough to do that? There are the Asian clams (real small), and the much larger fresh water clams found upriver (dig on any sandy beach and there's many). I understand the Asian clam is a invasive species, and has eaten much of the food that the native clams fed on it...

That's my understanding, FWIW.

white_cap
12-06-2007, 09:00 AM
i know that grizzly bay ( my favorite place to fish for sturgeon ) use to be loaded with zebra clams, also from some other country brought in from the bilges of ships, the sturgeon loved them

like-a-sturgeon
12-06-2007, 10:58 AM
OK GUYS, HERES A STUPID QUESTION TIME.
IF THE STURGEONS LOVE THE CLAM SO MUCH, WHY DON'T WE USE CLAMS AS BAIT? :-/

white_cap
12-06-2007, 01:14 PM
They use them to digest there food, like a bird (chickens, turkeys ) uses sand or such things like that. Sturgeon have a gizzard ( at least I think thatís what it is ), and it seams like it always full of small clam shells

bigg_fishh
12-06-2007, 06:30 PM