PDA

View Full Version : Image Shack



fshnjas
02-03-2009, 10:07 PM
Did Image Shack recently lower there photo size limit to 1.57 megabytes? Most of my pics are 2 and up. Usually I can upload and have them resize for me, which is nice. But now they wont upload my image..

If so, is there a nother easy free sight that will allow the bigger files?


jas

metalmouth
02-04-2009, 04:17 AM
There is a bunch of them. Do a google search for free photo hosting. The problem is the smaller pic hosting sites load slower here than the thread does leaving a lot of red X's .

fshnjas
02-04-2009, 08:36 AM
So I should just stick with image shack and resize my pics before hosting them?

They must have just changed that recently, cause I never had a size problem with them..

Thanks

jas

metalmouth
02-04-2009, 10:37 AM
I haven't downloaded any pics to IShack in a couple of weeks. I hope this doesn't create a mess.

If you right click on someone's posted pics that posts a lot of pics you will see the word properties and you can click on that and see the service they are using. A lot of people were using photobucket.com but there service wasn't great for the last year and the slow upload left red X's on our site.

A lot of guys use tinypic.com
They have become very popular in the last year.

CC is using http://www.graywave.org

If I was going to switch I might start with tinypic.com

CJC
02-04-2009, 11:18 AM
I resize my pictures before uploading them all the time. It is a lot faster to upload a smaller file anyway.

metalmouth
02-04-2009, 11:21 AM
I resize my pictures before uploading them all the time. It is a lot faster to upload a smaller file anyway.
I do as well. You can resize a single pic or a whole file using
http://bluefive.pair.com/pixresizer.htm

It's a great system!

reeltor
02-04-2009, 01:35 PM
I'll try a tinypic here

http://i39.tinypic.com/flwnr5.jpg

Reeltor

MB_Kevin
02-04-2009, 07:03 PM
Tinypic works just as good as imageshack! *Great if imageshack is not working.

http://i41.tinypic.com/2hrk3yg.jpg

Captain Compassion
02-05-2009, 07:46 AM
Graywave.org is my own personal domain. For less than $20 dollars for two years you can create your one domain. I use it in my work and it's a great way to post pictures. I have a sub directory for Sniffer pictures. I currently have around 1,500 pictures that I've posted with my reports. I can name the pictures what ever I want and re use them any time I want. I resize before I transfer them to the web site. I figure that I could store up to a million pictures if necessary. ;D The web hosting site I use is http://www.godaddy.com/ Very good and very cheap.

CC

Captain Compassion
02-05-2009, 07:49 AM
When I first posted on the Sniffer I used Tinypics. The pictures go away after a year. :( :-[

CC

dave_in_el_dorado
02-05-2009, 08:03 AM
i find image shack to be cumbersome and difficult to use, it gives me pop ups and w/ my security settings i typically cannot view others pictures here when i click on them.....i realize my problems are my own, but i choose to use programs and hosts that are simple and unobtrusive.

over time i have posted alot of pics here and on my other forum (pondboss) and have never had a problem using photobucket.

i use microsoft picture manager on my computer to resize all pics before uploading. it is very easy to use and everybody here who uses a PC probably has it.

captain, i have a domain w/ go daddy and didnt know i could host my own pics......i will be looking into that........stupid stupid me....thanks for tip....

drstressor
02-05-2009, 08:12 AM
People don't realize that they can host their own pictures. Some ISPs give you some free space for a website. You can use that to post your pictures. You only have to sign up and get a domain. You don't actually have to create a web page in order to use your domain to host pictures. There is always a space limitation, but if you re-size your pictures before uploading, you can host a lot of linkable images.

fshnjas
02-05-2009, 09:43 AM
I'll start resizing just because it seems like everyone else is..There must be a reason. I was just trying to avoid having more pic files than I already need on my comp. I'll just have to 'save as' all the pics that I want to post online and then delete them when im done...

Thanks for the info


jas

fshnjas
02-05-2009, 10:11 AM
Heres tinypics


http://i44.tinypic.com/1zz0ttz.jpg

metalmouth
02-05-2009, 10:29 AM
It is still to wide. :)

fshnjas
02-05-2009, 12:46 PM
http://i40.tinypic.com/330qjgh.jpg

http://i36.tinypic.com/2qwd4sm.jpg

http://i42.tinypic.com/2u712m0.jpg

http://i42.tinypic.com/2u712m0.jpg

drstressor
02-05-2009, 12:58 PM
I keep 2 folder on my desktop. One is named "Pictures to Post (PTP)" and the other "Resized to Post (RTP)". I copy the pictures I want to resize into the PTP folder and then use the resizing tool to resize all of them to the same dimension using the RTP folder as the destination. Then I select all of the resized pictures and drag them to the Upload folder on the Imageshack toolbar. Their toolbar is a good thing to download. Besides drag and drop uploads, all of your images and their codes are just a click away.

I clean out both desktop folders after uploading each group of images.

metalmouth
02-05-2009, 02:48 PM
That's fairly organized. ;D

Captain Compassion
02-05-2009, 04:04 PM
For resizing I use Microsoft Office Picture Manager. I got this with Microsoft Office. You can resize any size you want but one of the default sizes is 448X336 which is almost perfect for the Sniffer. With the software you can also do some other simple picture editing stuff like cropping, Color enhancement and photo brightening.

CC

MB_Kevin
02-05-2009, 06:13 PM
The pictures go away after a year. :( :-[



Thanks for letting me know that. *I don't want to use them then. *;)

MB_Kevin
02-05-2009, 06:35 PM
I had tried using tinypic to post a video because I had never tried imageshack. Imageshack was easier to get it up on the screen. I also like the screenshot function that came with the video upgrade..or maybe I just never noticed it before.


http://img531.imageshack.us/img531/6757/p1250046tw3.flv

Prowler
02-05-2009, 08:49 PM
Dand MB, is Sea Slayer related to Louis Armstrong? She has definitely got some Jazz in her blood. Just make sure she doesn't turn into one of these:

http://www.trumpetgeek.com/pictures/geek.gif

MB_Kevin
02-05-2009, 10:28 PM
Thanks Prowler. I will show her that. That was within the first few min of her having the trumpet. I get her this weekend and am hoping she has gotten better. :-/ ;D

Darin
02-07-2009, 03:19 AM
Today was the first time I have had a problem using ImageShack. I had deleted all of my cookies therefore I had to remember my password to ImageShack. Couldn’t remember my password so I went through the process to get a new one. When I signed back in and downloaded new pics I tried to post them on Sniffer but a red x came up where the picture should have been. I finally figured out that it was posting a red x because I was viewing the pictures on ImageShack in thumbnail view. Even though the URL was the same for some reason if you copy and past the URL off of the thumbnail page it will not show up in a post, just a red x will. In the list of options in the right hand side of the screen click on Classic View under Upload Image.

ACTION
0 images selected *

Create slideshow
Post to blog
Create PDF book New!
Edit images
Mark as private
Mark as public
Delete

Get code for Forums
Get code for Websites
Get code for Email

Add tags
Remove tags

Upload Image
Upload Multiple Images

My Profile
Logout
Classic View

After clicking Classic View you will see you pictures on the left and a few different options as which code you want. Click the first one: ex.
Embeddable Code:
[IMG]http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/8558/californiamountainlionez1.jpg[/IMG
Forums

Left click anywhere in this box and it will become highlighted. Then right click on the mouse and select copy.
When you have finished typing your post on the sniffer board right click again and select paste. This should work.

To download pics just click on the frog in the upper left hand corner. A new window will appear
upload: image should be selected
1) Click Browse and find the pic you want in your files.
make sure 640x480 is selected. The picture will be bigger in this selection and some of the picture will be lost
or select 320x240 for the complete image. In this selection the picture will be smaller.
2) Click host
3) After it is finished downloading click on My images and you can copy and paste it from there.

I have tried this on multiple computers and it works.

Here is the kicker: if the image is bigger than 3.00 megabytes it will not work. Most pictures taken are smaller than that.

If you need to make the picture smaller try using a program like Photoscape. It is a free download. If you need help using Photoscape Pm me.
Hope this helps some

FFG

fshnjas
02-07-2009, 08:16 AM
Im resizing to the recomended sizes now before i upload to image shack. its atleast uploading now, but when I paste it to my post, its still to wide, i dont get that... And the resize options that they have ar not the right sizes...
I think im going to be trying some other sights and get awaw from image shack. It shouldnt be that time comsuming..


jas

ghostfish_slayer
02-07-2009, 06:46 PM
make sure that after they are resized and after you select them from the browse button in imageshack that you uncheck the (resize image?) *box on imageshack before you click the (host it!) box.. then after that does what it needs to do and the other page with your info pops up scroll down a little and uncheck the (include details) box. then highlight, copy the info from (hotlink for forums (1) ) *bar and paste it in the fish sniffer box.. then preview and post it..

fshnjas
02-08-2009, 09:16 AM
http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/5764/familygarden031bb7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
By fshnjas (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/fshnjas)

fshnjas
02-08-2009, 09:23 AM
Thats strange? I didn't have to copy that one between the

I'll have to rember the (hot link to forums (1)

jas

drstressor
02-08-2009, 10:15 AM
That confuses a lot of people. Their forum codes already have the image tags embedded. If you put them in again yourself, the picture won't show.

Double_D
04-15-2009, 07:32 AM
test post

http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/2604/scan32.jpg (http://img90.imageshack.us/my.php?image=scan32.jpg)