PDA

View Full Version : HELP PLEASE!!!

MVP
07-22-2005, 03:59 PM
I am new to the Oakley/Pittsburg area and my goal is to catch me a Sturgeon!! I have no idea where to begin ..I have my own light tackle that I prefer to use. I just have no idea where to catch those monsters. So if someone can provide me with some on info on bait and location I would appreciate that!!!!!

Also I have no boat so I need shore spots please!!

MVP

2QUARTSLOW
07-22-2005, 04:38 PM
Welcome MVP.

Whats Light tackle to you?

Example light tackle for me is a 8'6" salmon/steelhead rod rated to 8 to 20lbs and 15 lb line.

I usually use medium weight tackle. 30# maxima or 50# braid. With a medium/heavy rod 8' rated anywhere from 15 to 30 or 20 to 50.

If you look at the boards lately not much action, few people out chasin the sturgies.

End of august most of us will pick up and start in after them.

Your in a good spot otherwise. Sturgeon bite year round just that this warm part of the year they slow down.

Look through the past post (it may take awhile reading). You may have to go back to the begining pages, but you will find a whole bunch of good info.

Again welcome to the boards 2Q

sturgeon_general
07-22-2005, 05:50 PM