PDA

View Full Version : Penn 320 gt2

hqly2001
11-27-2005, 01:39 AM
i just got my first conventional reel and yup.. u guessed it... after my first cast.. my line is all messed up..
after cutting out half my new line.. i still can't cast the thing... each time i cast.. the reel would spin and the line would be all messed up.. i'm use to the spincasters... can anyone provide advice for this reel?
i think i'm suppose to leave my finger on there and apply pressure... but if i apply too much.. the cast doesn't go far.. if too little then i would have to fix the line.. help!!!!

thumbuster
11-27-2005, 07:54 AM
I'm new to casting with baitcasters also but what I've found is you need to adjust the tension on the spool so that your lure will slowly drop to the ground with no over-run. They are also hard to cast with lite lures. One other tip... Practice,Practice,Practice!

SturgeonVirgin
11-27-2005, 08:08 AM
one thing to keep in mind is that the cast on a convench reel is not the same as a spinner. In a spinner, you have that flick at the end of the cast to get the lure/bait to go where you want it to. Do that on a convench reel and you get a birdsnest....

Try a smooth acceleration to the end of the cast, more of a lob, to get started. Once you get the hang of it, start to add power and work up to it. Its different for sure. Go to walmart and get some cheap line in bulk, its like 3-5 bucks and spool up on that, then go to a park and practice casting over grass till you are able to cast like you want to. Then go to the good line and go fishing

Keep in mind a 320GT is a good reel, but don't expect huge distance from it. Big reels are made for big rigs, not always big casts. Remember the rule in casting distance is that it only has to hit the water!

DragonSlayer
11-27-2005, 11:18 AM