PDA

View Full Version : Early Salmon?

FatCat
02-02-2006, 08:56 PM
Well, salmon season is rapidly approaching...Feb 18! I am pretty new to salmon fishing on the ocean but I am itching to get out there. My question is, will it be worth it to go out on a party boat in late Feb/early March?

gmdcdvm
02-02-2006, 09:36 PM
I assume you mean up North. From what I understand Salmon season starts in the Bay Area April 1st.
The easy answer is its always worth it to go fishing :).
Now if you really want to catch a fish then it might not be a bad idea to wait 2 or 3 days to see what the weather and early counts are like.

triggerfish
02-02-2006, 09:37 PM
sometimes. It is different every year. I would go on a crab salmon combo.

Team_Sheryl_Lee
02-03-2006, 07:06 PM
last year seemed like everything was a month behind

TSL

blue_chrush
02-04-2006, 08:38 AM
yeah, the opener down here was rainy
with big swells so I went out sunday instead
and it didn't really come on for another 3wks..
then it got good...

I'll be looking early again early march
sand dabs are always a good indicator... ;) ;D

FatCat
02-05-2006, 10:33 PM
Yes, I am speaking of up north. While I am always down to go fishing, I am not down with paying $100 for a party boat and getting skunked. For one, my wife would not be very happy!

The crab combo thing sounds like a good idea. That way I could bring home something and still get laid! 8)

65whaler
02-06-2006, 12:09 PM
i think more important than the fish count in february up north is the swell height. january saw almost every day over 10' ground swell and plenty of them were 15'+. just this past saturday saw swells at the pt reyes and bodega wheather buoy marking 25', and it was supposedly stronger further north. may not be a survival issue for the larger charters, but even the saltiest amongst us will turn green on such seas.

ric1ric
02-06-2006, 06:29 PM