PDA

View Full Version : Float tubing Pineflat

kgphotos@pacbell.n
02-09-2009, 10:30 AM
Has anybody float tubed in Pineflat or have you seen others while you are out in your boats. A friend and i are going to go to Pineflat on Sunday with our tubes. I have never had my tube in Pineflat so I am not sure what is the best place to launch to look for trout. Thanks for your help.

ReelJerks
02-09-2009, 03:20 PM
I've been fishing that lake since 1960. Yes I have seen a few....God rest their souls.

Edd

jannwells
02-09-2009, 04:31 PM
[smiley=rotfl2.gif]
You got a mean streak Edd.

ReelJerks
02-09-2009, 04:39 PM
No No No. I just mean I don't think it's a safe lake for float-boating. I actually prefer them over lake lice and skiers.

Edd ;)

jannwells
02-09-2009, 06:34 PM
Well.....I'm sure "kgphotos" feels much better now Edd, you looking out for his safety and all. [smiley=cheesy.gif]

kg, if you read some of the posts regarding the fishing at the Flat lately, its anybody's guess. I've heard twice now Windy Gap has produced a few trout but if you try to tube or hike to that area Edd is right, have your will in order.
Are you throwing a fly, spin casting or what?
Bf18

kgphotos@pacbell.n
02-09-2009, 09:13 PM
We will be fly fishing and I don't plan on getting to far from the shore line. I don't want to become a target for boats. I just wanted to find out which launch ramp was closest to the most trout. Thanks.

jannwells
02-09-2009, 09:35 PM
Well, most of the trout caught fly fishing this stretch of the Kings river come from either the upper or lower river areas. Most of the trout caught on the lake come from either trolling or bait fishing.

If you are a learned fly fisherman you might want to target some of the trophy hybrid trout in the river below the dam. I understand they are in the 8 lb range.
Check the Fly Fishing board, there are a couple lower Kings knowledgeable people there.
good luck and tight lines. ;)

By the way,,,its a beautiful area this time of year.
Bf18