PDA

View Full Version : Bass Lake

J_W
10-26-2008, 07:25 PM
I'm heading up to Bass Lake this weekend (Oct 31-Nov3). I've been going for the last 8 years with my girl's family who have been going for the last 24-some-odd years. Usually we go on Veteran's Day weekend, this year we're going a couple weeks earlier.

We've had pretty good success top-lining or trolling a few colors of lead-core with neadlefish or rapalas and other lures from my boat for rainbows. Just wondering what suggestions people might have for this lake.

They always shore fished with not much success untill I started bringing my boat up there. So I'm their hero now! Ha ha, just kidding. Just wondering what other suggestions you guys might have to mix things up a bit. I'm far from an expert but have had decent success on this lake. My dad's going for the first time this year too and doesn't get to fish much anymore so I want to make sure he has a good time and catches some fish. By the way we catch and release all but one meals worth of rainbows at this beautiful lake.

JW

kgphotos@pacbell.n
10-27-2008, 08:51 PM
I have always had a great time fishing flies from my float tube near the dam. Bass is a great lake for me in the winter. I have had a lot of success with olive Woolley Buggers on an intermediate sink line. The fish that I keep for dinner have always had stomachs full of small black chironomid pupa so I want to try some chironomid pupa patterns this winter. I will be interested to hear how you do.

J_W
10-28-2008, 10:37 AM
Hey thanks for the response kgphotos. No responses on three different boards for Bass Lake. I was beginning to think I should stick to the striper and salmon board where I'm more welcome, just kidding. I'm sure not too many people fish this lake especially in the Fall for trout before they even start planting and the kokanee fishing is usually over with I think.