PDA

View Full Version : Don't the trout know where there supposed to be?

Kranfish
07-13-2008, 08:51 AM
Hi All,

This is my first post so here is a little background before my question.

I have been fly-fishing the northern part of Cal for over 17 years. I tried to get my wife interested in fly-fishing, and have had very little success. Donít get me wrong, she loves to fish, just not fly-fishing. She is more of the bait cast and boat fisher so we donít fish together much.

A while back a friend gave me a 14í aluminum V-hull, which I have outfitted for fishing. 18 HP outboard, 46lb thrust trolling, fish finder, rod holders, folding swivel seats, cup holders, and yes even a porta-pottie for her use, all in the hopes that we can find a mutual interest in fishing.

Now I am new to trolling, never done it before in my life. So I did quite a bit of research on the net and this site, so I would have at least a little bit of a clue as to what I was doing when we went out. Well we just got back from a week long vacation in South Western Idaho near McCall. Took the boat out trolling for four of the days and did quite well for our first trip, and yes my wife loved it.

Everything that I have read about trolling for trout states that trout love cold water (around 53-56 degrees), and in the summer months, the trout will be holding in this water, just below the thermocline (which can be 50 or more feet down). I never saw a thermocline on the fish finder, so I targeted the fish holding deep using a snap weight system (as I havenít bought a downrigger as of yet), and line counter reels. Using this technique, we didnít even get a bite. I wasnít until I was setting up a run in a different location that I had let out 65 feet of line, and was getting ready to put my snap weight on, when I got a strike, and landed a nice 14Ē bow. I immediately abandoned the snap weights, and surface trolled the rest of the trip and nearly limited every time out to the lake after that.