PDA

View Full Version : why you miss hookups when trolling

first5
01-25-2005, 12:59 PM
what are the main reasons why a fish'll strike but not hook up when trolling? and how can you avoid this? ???

i'm new to this trolling business, but have had fish hit, and hit hard, but not stick. i just assumed the strike-to-catch ratio would be higher. ::)

notime
01-25-2005, 01:16 PM
try changing out your hooks to Gamakatsu or Owners hooks

first5
01-25-2005, 01:16 PM
by the way, i use lead core (12 lb) with a 45' leader, 8 lb fluoro. Med action rod pretty stiff, i put the clicker On, and set the drag very loose, and set the hook once i hear the clicker sing and see the rod jump, and pick up the rod out of a rod holder. i have replaced single hooks with trebles on lures like Needlefish. what am i doing wrong?

Big_Country
01-25-2005, 01:46 PM
No matter what you try to do, short of some kind of super glue, you will have strikes but no fish...

Some trout and salmon would hit below the Mendoza Line (that's .200 for those in Rio Linda) if they played baseball...

They simply are not very good at striking their quarry...so if you get a strike and no hook-up, wait a few seconds...don't be so quick to remove the rod from the holder. They may be circling around and coming back to try again.

First5 - unless you are keeping your catch, stay away from trebles...use singles, and barbless -- it makes releasing much easier and thus the survival rates much higher...

Also, some lures may lose their action (effectiveness) if you change out the hooks...

Country 8)

drstressor
01-25-2005, 01:52 PM
Most common reasons for missing strikes when trolling:

1) Hooks aren't "sticky sharp". Factory points with the possible exception of Gamakatsu's need to be touched up. Try to re-sharpen hooks after each fish or each time the lure drags bottom.