PDA

View Full Version : Trolling for trout

Alan_E
07-18-2007, 07:41 PM
Without a downrigger...what setup can one use? I think this subject was on here before...but without lead core? I went years ago with some older guys....@ 30 years ago...we went to Ice House/ Union Valley...We didn't use Lead core/Down riggers... just some kind of flashers and a worm trailing.... didn't have a real stiff rod.... But we caught fish.... As I understand it, you must get down to where the fish are....deeper during the summer...There must be a way to do this without all the weight on the line....any help here would be appreciated!!!

conrad89
07-18-2007, 08:13 PM
I am not an expert by any means, but some fishing stores do sell trolling weights. They come on a long swivel. Look it up on Cabela's to get a visual Or you can use a troll ease(its the big red thing on the front of a big lake troll), you can buy them individually. The troll ease has a hole on the bottum. Tie a peice of line on and(small piece) and attach a bass casting sinker. The draw back to this method is that there is no depth certainty. It all depends on how fast the boat is moving, how much line out etc. Good luck

SuperDave
07-19-2007, 09:55 AM
There are numerous inventions that get the line down deep. However, with the exception of a downrigger or an inline weight release, they all add considerable drag to the fishing experience. It more or less reduces you from a sport fisherman to a meat fisherman.

metalmouth
07-19-2007, 12:32 PM
As Dave said there are many ways to get deeper but short of dropping lead, each will detract from the fish fighting experience. The most common are lead core line, copper braided line, trolling weights, and divers. The diver thing looks like the most fun. ;D

TahoeJeff
07-19-2007, 12:54 PM