PDA

View Full Version : 6/24. *first time ever at caples

underdog63
06-25-2007, 10:08 AM
happy good day to all,

this is my third post hear on the sniffer. *i've been coming here for reports, maps, articles, and such for only a few months now, but man, what a great site. *

i reckon you could say i'm a novice fisherman. *i've been fishing all my life, but not on any kind of a regular basis. * i'm trying to change this. *over the last month i've been out eight times, mostly after the shad on the AR, but i did catch a couple 8" rainbows on the north fork of the american near the confluence while fishing for smallies. *that kinda put me in the mood for trout.

after getting skunked from shore at jenkinson(the day after a plant i might add), i decided i try a lake my friend told me about. *he lives up in volcano and said to head down shake ridge to 88, turn left and stop when you get to caples lake. *he'd never fished there, but he said it was beautiful and right on the highway. *after a little research here at the site, i made it my mission to go there.

yesterday, i left my friend's house around 1700. *i took my time on the way. *i stopped at a little store/bar/restraunt and bought some crawlers. *the guy at the store was stoked i was going to caples. i had no idea about the great vistas up on 88. i stopped again to check out the fire raging over at south shore. *what a flippin' drag that is...

anywho, i got to the dam and out to the point by 1830 and started throwing inflated worms on a sliding sinker. *then i threw worms with eggs...then wroms powerbait and eggs. *after a lost rig, i tied on the blue and silver kastmaster *the guy at the store told me to use. *still nothing. *so i then tied on a brand new panther martin. *first cast and a 10" rainbow could not resist. *took it deep even. *third cast and an 12 brook shows up. *i've never caught a brookie. *good times and what a pretty fish.