PDA

View Full Version : Tomales Bay rookie here..

Mr._Evinrude
01-08-2009, 09:01 AM
I now have a nice place to stay in Tomales Bay but I have no fishing experience there. * I would love to learn all I need to know about halibut fishing. I read this site every day. *What are the main things I need to get before the next halibut season hits us? Rod & reel sizes, line size, lures, bait, scents, depth finder knowledge, anything!!! *Thanks for any help... [smiley=help.gif]

Fishbutt21
01-08-2009, 10:28 AM
The best thing I can tell you is contact a gentleman by the name of "65whaler" he knows Tomales very well and can get you up to speed with what you need, since he lives there hes the local expert

65whaler
01-08-2009, 07:39 PM
hey there whaler77 - welcome to tomales bay. always glad to know another fisherman in the area. the halibut are best fished from april through october, the best fishing for me almost always having been in september. but any month that the water is warm and brown it's worth trying. almost all of the halibut are caught just north and south [not east!] of hog island which is a mile or so south of lawson's landing at the mouth. the biggest fish are usually caught on the bar of the mouth in august, september though i've hit some prize fish in between the bar and hog from time to time. sometimes in june, like this past summer, the fish will go all the way down to hearts desire - some ten miles south of hog. always worth a try in june.

one thing about tomales bay fishing is junk. the water can be full of eel grass etc. especially after the wind stinks it up the day before. be sure to use heavily redundant swivels or spinning baits will destroy rigs when the swivel chokes on grass.