PDA

View Full Version : DFG NEEDS YOUR HELP AT FOLSOM LAKE

Garry
06-09-2006, 06:21 AM
PLEASE READ...PLEASE READ...PEASE READ
FISH AND GAME NEEDS OUR HELP
As many of you may already know...the American River Hatchery has been hit by a disease known as IHN disease. It can be fatal to salmonids including rainbow trout, king salmon. The disease has already cost the lives of over 1,100,000 king salmon fry that were destined to be released to the ocean as part of the American River KING SALMON plant.

I am no expert, but I am told the disease was spread either by (1)lack of following procedures (protocols) at the hatchery, (2)diseased fish somehow contaminating the eggs and/or fry at the hatchery or (3)the disease came down river through Folsom and Natomas lakes to the hatchery. The latter #3 is a very scary thought to DFG and HATCHERY PERSONELL. If fish above the hatchery are contaminated there is a major problem to resolve at the hatchery for future years of stocking.

THE DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND GAME IS ASKING FOR THE HELP OF ANGLERS to catch FOLSOM LAKE'S RAINBOW TROUT or KING SALMON and take them to the Granite Bay Launch Ramp area where they will take samples of the fish's blood, gills, spleen and kidneys. You may keep the fish after they collect the tissue for testing and THERE ARE NO SIDE EFFECTS THAT WILL HARM HUMANS and the fish are fine to eat. IT JUST KILLS FISH especially those that are stressed by overcrowding and in cold water conditions.

ON SATURDAY JUNE 17th, Fish and Game Pathologist Teresa Veek and a small team of DFG biologists will be at FOLSOM LAKE'S GRANITE BAY LAUNCH RAMP TO TAKE SAMPLES FROM THE FISH YOU CATCH. THEY WILL BE THERE FROM 9AM until 1PM. They hope that they can get samples from at least 25 to 30 trout or salmon.

THIS IS A MAJOR OPPORTUNITY FOR YOU TO HELP THE DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND GAME SOLVE THE MYSTERY OF WHERE THE DISEASE ORIGINATED.